From Reno to Turkey- Christine Flores

I never imagined spending two weeks in Turkey.  However, I went through with the decision and so far Turkey has been nothing but a wonderful adventure.  This is a summer study tour that takes place in Istanbul, Turkey and is run by UNR Professor Berch Berberoglu.  I am currently two days into the program and I’m enjoying every bit that this city and country has to offer.

So far I have able to experience the culture and environment of Istanbul as well as the surrounding cities. Most importantly I have been able to experience the cuisine.  Today for instance, I got to eat a Turkish pizza.  It’s different than what we would consider pizza back home, but it was still delicious.  Another thing we did today was visit another continent.  We hopped on a boat and crossed the Black sea into Asia.  All in all this experience so far has taught me so much, and I can’t wait to see what the rest of the trip has in store for me.

Leave a Reply

