3 Marathons in 3 Days- Monika Mala

“Only those who will risk going too far can possibly find out how far one can go.”        T.S. Eliot

I wasn’t born a runner. My parents never pushed me into sports. I wasn’t a “natural” at anything. Heck, I didn’t even have the body for it. I wasn’t handed anything. I made myself a runner. If you told the 21-year-old me that one day I would run marathons, I would have laughed. I couldn’t run even for a minute when I first started, but just this weekend I did something pretty amazing. I ran three marathons (26.2 miles) in three days. I have to say this is a MAJOR highlight of my running career.

When I first started I had one goal: to run around the block. I finally did it after a few weeks. I remember the first time I ran three miles and no one thinking that was a big deal. It was! It was a really big deal to me. To all those people who didn’t think it was…well look at me now! Five years later and 40 lbs. lighter, I have joined an elite group of runners. Only 1000 people in the world have ever completed this challenge.

The races started on Friday at Inspiration Point, Lake Tahoe. I wasn’t very nervous because I knew this distance. I had been this far before. It was the next day that scared me. We woke up at 6am to catch our ride to the next starting point on day two. I was sore, my feet hurt and I was tired. I was lucky because my pacers for the day were none other than the man who holds the record for the race, Juan De Oliva and my running group coach Mike Conners.

Day three was the hardest. The hills seemed to be getting bigger and longer. I have to admit I almost lost it at the end of our first hill. My running partner was my ultimate pacer and biggest moral support, Tim. We helped each other get to the end. What an end it was! I soaked in the lake while I looked at all I had accomplished during the weekend. Never did I think I would take on such a great adventure.

So this is my challenge for everyone one who reads this, do something amazing! Challenge yourself to do something no one ever thought you would, then TELL THE WORLD!

Leave a Reply

